This one is for Nigerian Professors in Foreign Universities..

Ilesanmi_Adesida_Going to a foreign university as an international student is not easy without financial support. What makes the problem worse is that some international students have to work to pay for their education.

Let me tell my international student story…

I came into the United States to visit my family and my parents decided that the children stay back for a chance to get a better education. I had no idea the pain this decision would cost me and the rest of all my family. Everything went well until it was time for me to attend college. I got an admission to school, which I later found that that they admitted me by mistake. The school later told me that if they knew about my immigration status I would not have gotten an admission.
The first semester we had to pay $12,000 for one semester. I am not exaggerating; I had to pay that much per semester. Each semester there was always an increase in the tuition meaning I had to pay more each semester. I was able to go through school without dropping out because I had parents who worked hard. Can you imagine an international student who has to pay $12,000 per semester without any financial backings from scholarships, family, and friends?

Schooling in a foreign country is extremely tough without support. In some cases, international students do not have the proper financial backings to get their social security number to work. Life as international students is rough as it is but it also very interesting that we have Nigerian professors in some of the schools who can use their platform to help some international students but they do not.

To Nigerian Professors in foreign Universities: You know how you struggled to get your education. Even if you did not struggle, what stops you from helping your own? What do you lose in helping your own people?

You lose NOTHING…

It is a shameful thing to let your own people suffer when you are in the position to help

8 thoughts on “This one is for Nigerian Professors in Foreign Universities..

  1. How exactly is it that they are “letting their people suffer”? How exactly is it that you want them to help you? Did you ask them for help? Can you explain what you are expecting from these professors that are committing this shameful atrocity of letting their people suffer?

  2. Oh no, you didnt just go there, did you? You are going to have to give a better reason than just the point that a Nigerian professor denied your sister a scholarship that she was more than qualified. Or at the very least explain further. Because I can even ask you more questions based on your response there. You are talking like the denial of your sisters scholarship was intentional. How are you sure that even though she was more than qualified as you said, that there wasn’t someone more qualified than her that he gave the scholarship? I hope you are not insinuating that he should have given her the scholarship just because she was a fellow Nigerian. If you dont know this mans exact reasons for not giving your sister a scholarship, then how dare you imply that his decision was shameful? These are the kind of perspectives that give us Africans a bad name and it is the same kind of mind that is constantly keeping so many places in Africa where they are today. If you want your country to grow, then you must promote integrity. If you think that professors should be helping their people just because they are their people, then there is no integrity there.

    • Sir, I don’t want to get into details about her scholarship but she was already given the scholarship. All the professor needed to do was to put his signature. I am not asking for these professors to do anything unethical. All I am saying is that some professors have the platform to help their own but they don’t.

      Mexicans/Asians/Whites pull together and help each other. Something as simple as becoming a mentor to some students wouldn’t hurt any of these professors.

  3. First of all you said that this guy denied your sister the chance of getting a scholarship. And then you said that she got the scholarship but he did not put his signature. I’m not sure what kind of picture you are trying to paint of this guy but thats ok. I am not going to ask about the details of her scholarship. But all I am saying is that if you know that the professor intentionally did not help her for some reason, then you have a point. But if you don’t know why he didnt put his signature there, then you have no room to imply that it is shameful.

    I am glad you used the word “some” and I am glad you said something about mentorship because being something like a mentor is what many fellow African professors and lecturers do for the students they see walking around campus. It does not always have to be a financial platform, or even a platform that directly offers progress and success. Sometimes general support is the only thing that many of these people in these positions can do. The main reason that you have written this article shows in a small sense that you have probably, and unfortunately, not seen or experienced this kind of support, either for yourself, for your family members, or for some of your countrymen that you know. Just keep in mind that many of these guys may seem like they are very stable from the outside because they are professors but the truth is that many of them have their own struggles too. Sometimes the mistake fellow countrymen make is assuming that these people are not helping them because they are selfish, or because they seem to have forgotten that the struggles that they had in their time too.

    I would advise that whenever you write something like this, please also give credit to those that do good deeds. Because there are so many out there that work really hard to ensure that fellow countrymen are given at the very least the awareness that they need to survive in foreign lands, and the way your article reads, it is almost just like African people that seem to be in successful places dont help their own. As a matter of fact depending on where you go, Africans have a very good support structure just like or even better than the asians and mexicans that you have mentioned. I have seen it with my own eyes. People inviting young Africans that have just arrived in the country to churches, fellowships, and even bringing them into their own homes for holidays like thanksgiving and christmas. There is a Nigerian woman that I know that is married to a Jamaican man. She has four children and even with all her commitments, she still goes out of her way to bring bowls of Nigerian made soup to the young Nigerians that she had just met all in the name of making sure that they are “eating well”. Another Nigerian boy I know told me how someone took advantage of him and was charging him too much for rent just to stay in one small room in a private house close to the school. It was illegal because this individual was renting a room in his house to foreign students that didn’t know better and was charging a lot of money. One of his countrymen heard about it and told the guy to leave. He offered the kid a room in his house for free until he found a cheaper place to stay. I have even witnessed so many young Africans that have even met their current wives and husbands as a result of some of the connections and networks that they made with other African families when they were in university. Two of the five couples that I know that this has happened to are Nigerian.

    The second thing I would advise is that whenever you write something like this, that you also talk about the other side of the coin too. Yes there are many Africans out there in positions of influence, but there are also many African students out there walking around expecting these people of influence just to walk up to them and help them because they are fellow countrymen. That is why I said in my first comment “did you ask them for help?” Sometimes some of these African students need to be encouraged to walk up to the professor and introduce themselves and get to know the lecturers as they live through their university experience. If they have a problem and are going through some hardships, then they should also go up to their fellow countrymen and say “excuse me sir, excuse me ma, I have this situation. do you have any advice for me?” And this is the kind of thing that when you write articles like this that you should encourage the students to do too. “Ask and you shall receive, seek and you shall find,” is that not right? If the students themselves are not making effort, then they cannot complain that nobody is helping them. If people want mentors, they must be willing to be a mentee. I am sure you mean well and have a good point by your article. But I just don’t like it sometimes when I see something that looks like blame towards a group of people that are actually doing the opposite. It is almost like a slap in the face to the ones that are trying.

Leave a Reply

